I’ve Been at NPR for 25 Years. Here’s How We Lost America’s Trust. | The Free Press

By Uri Berliner

April 9, 2024

“You know the stereotype of the NPR listener: an EV-driving, Wordle-playing, tote bag–carrying coastal elite. It doesn’t precisely describe me, but it’s not far off. I’m Sarah Lawrence–educated, was raised by a lesbian peace activist mother, I drive a Subaru, and Spotify says my listening habits are most similar to people in Berkeley.

I fit the NPR mold. I’ll cop to that.

So when I got a job here 25 years ago, I never looked back. As a senior editor on the business desk where news is always breaking, we’ve covered upheavals in the workplace, supermarket prices, social media, and AI.

It’s true NPR has always had a liberal bent, but during most of my tenure here, an open-minded, curious culture prevailed. We were nerdy, but not knee-jerk, activist, or scolding.

In recent years, however, that has changed. Today, those who listen to NPR or read its coverage online find something different: the distilled worldview of a very small segment of the U.S. population.” . . . .

Source: I’ve Been at NPR for 25 Years. Here’s How We Lost America’s Trust. | The Free Press

David Lindsay

10:39 AM (3 minutes ago)

to letters@nytimes.comme
I got interested in the story today 4/18 which I can no longer find, that Uri Bertliner wrote an essay published in the Free Press, criticizing NPR for group think, tilting left into identity politics, and telling viewers how to think.  It was covered in a story today, that didn’t appear to have a link to the original document. I did find from 4/16

NPR Suspends Editor Whose Essay Criticized the Broadcaster, which also does not link to the original essay.

In searching inside the Times, I couldn’t find even a link to the original essay, but Google found the first article:

NPR in Turmoil After It Is Accused of Liberal Bias

  April 11th with a link to the essay at The Free Press. What a great essay.

I am disappointed that the NYT didn’t make it easy to find this link in todays articles. It has a weak search engine internally.  Or is the NYT interested in burying this story? Probably not.  I often need to use google to find an old story in the NYT.com.

Uri Bertliner makes many good points. It is too bad he felt compelled to resign from NPR. It might even be tragic for NPR.

David Lindsay,  blogging at InconvenientNews.net

Leave a comment